Tuesday, June 1, 2010

Give 'em a boost

Please put your children in booster seats in compliance with the law.

It'll save you money and quite possibly the life of your child.

Tickets loom if kids aren't in booster seats
By Eva Ruth Moravec - Express-News 

Starting today, Texas law enforcement agencies may ticket parents whose children younger than 8 and shorter than 4 feet 9 inches aren't placed in a child safety seat.

Although the law went into effect in September, motorists have had a nine-month grace period to comply with the new rule. Now, officials may issue tickets that carry fines ranging from $25 for the first offense to $250 for each subsequent offense for motorists who don't properly restrain children.

The seats, also called booster seats, raise children so safety belts properly restrain them, according to the Texas Department of Transportation.

The rest of the story: