Sunday, June 6, 2010

Lawman to be honored

Early congratulations to the winner.

Lawman of the Year to be honored Tuesday
By Bryan Shettig The Herald-Zeitung

The Lawman of the Year will be honored Tuesday morning at the Fork and Spoon by Breakfast Lions Club members.

The lawman, who will not be named until 7 a.m. Tuesday, will receive a plaque and a lifetime membership to the 100 Club of Comal County, a nonprofit that helps the families of public safety workers who have died.

The award is named after Ed Murphy, a Comal County sheriff’s detective who died in 1981 in a helicopter crash in Startzville while on duty.

The award has been given to law men and women for more than 15 years, said Ronald Zipp of the Lions Club.

Zipp, who sits on a committee to decide the winner, said the award goes to police, sheriff’s deputies and detectives and well as Texas Rangers, as long as they work in Comal County.

“I think it’s a wonderful award to give,” he said.

Residents can attend the ceremony, Zipp said.